# **NVSPS TROPHIES & AWARDS (for 2010-2011)**

## CHARLES S. KENT PERPETUAL MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented annually to the NVSPS sailboat skipper whose seamanship, dedication, service, participation, and citizenship best exemplify the principles of the USPS<sup>®</sup>. *Awarded to John von Senden*.

## COMMANDER'S APPRECIATION AWARD

Presented to recognize the NVSPS power boat skipper who for a number of years best exemplifies the values of USPS toward education, safety, community service, and boating fun. It recognizes outstanding service to NVSPS. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Frank Shults.

## **NVSPS NEWER MEMBER AWARD**

Presented annually by the NVSPS Commander to a new member who has made substantial contributions of time and effort to the success of the Squadron. *Awarded to Robyn Stewart*.

#### NVSPS SEASONED SALT AWARD

Presented to a Senior member for extraordinary dedication and deep commitment towards the success of NVSPS and its services and programs. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Gale Alls.

# NVSPS EDUCATIONAL AWARD

Awarded annually to the NVSPS member for his outstanding contribution to our educational department. Originated by P/C James M. Settle, AP. *Awarded to Richard Unis* 

# **OUTSTANDING INSTRUCTOR BOATING SAFETY**

For the instructor of boating safety who best exemplifies the spirit and principles of USPS<sup>®</sup>. Originated by P/C Jere D. Dando, AP and Nancy G. Dando, P. *Awarded to Jay Nelson*.

## PAST COMMANDER'S AWARD

Presented to a NVSPS Past Commander who has provided outstanding performance, service, participation, and support. Originated by P/C Jere D. Dando, AP and Nancy G. Dando, P. Awarded to **John Shivik**.

## MENTOR OF THE YEAR AWARD

Presented for commitment to excellence in mentoring new officers. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to **Jean Durgin**, **Richard Durgin**, and **Francis Williamson**.

# **DEAN C. LINDQUIST TROPHY**

Awarded to the best NVSPS navigator competing in all navigation contests in a season. Originated by Dean C. Lindquist. *Not awarded in 2011*.

# NVSPS TROPHIES & AWARDS (FOR 2010-2011) (Cont'd)

## JACK ISICSON TROPHY

Presented by the Isicson Family for the best single score of the year in an NVSPS navigation contest by an NVSPS boat navigated by her owner. *Not awarded in 2011*.

## COMMANDER'S DISCRETIONARY AWARDS

Presented to the NVSPS members who have performed exceptional service to the Squadron. Originated in 2001. Awarded to Tom Ballew, Steve Hall, Sue & John Karjala, Manette & Walt Lazear, Ann Nartsissov, Keith Segerson, Robert Van Buskirk.

# COMMANDER'S RECOGNITION CERTIFICATE

Presented to convey NVSPS' grateful recognition for the ongoing support of our squadron programs and services. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Richard Davis, Robert Donahue, J.J. Fitzgerald, Sean Gallagher, Alex Lieberman, Ed Phillips, Cathleen Sheffield, Steven Wanbaugh, and Frederick Zugay.