NVSPS TROPHIES & AWARDS (for 2009-2010)

CHARLES S. KENT PERPETUAL MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented annually to the NVSPS sailboat skipper whose seamanship, dedication, service, participation, and citizenship best exemplify the principles of the USPS[®]. *Awarded to Sue Karjala and John Karjala*.

COMMANDER'S APPRECIATION AWARD

Presented to recognize the NVSPS power boat skipper who for a number of years best exemplifies the values of USPS toward education, safety, community service, and boating fun. It recognizes outstanding service to NVSPS. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to John Shivik.

NVSPS NEWER MEMBER AWARD

Presented annually by the NVSPS Commander to a new member who has made substantial contributions of time and effort to the success of the Squadron. *Awarded to Sean Gallagher*.

NVSPS SEASONED SALT AWARD

Presented to a Senior member for extraordinary dedication and deep commitment towards the success of NVSPS and its services and programs. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Jay Nelson.

NVSPS EDUCATIONAL AWARD

Awarded annually to the NVSPS member for his outstanding contribution to our educational department. Originated by P/C James M. Settle, AP. *Awarded to Richard Unis*

OUTSTANDING INSTRUCTOR BOATING SAFETY

For the instructor of boating safety who best exemplifies the spirit and principles of USPS[®]. Originated by P/C Jere D. Dando, AP and Nancy G. Dando, P. *Awarded to Robert Cox.*

PAST COMMANDER'S AWARD

Presented to a NVSPS Past Commander who has provided outstanding performance, service, participation, and support. Originated by P/C Jere D. Dando, AP and Nancy G. Dando, P. Awarded to Gale Alls.

MENTOR OF THE YEAR AWARD

Presented for commitment to excellence in mentoring new officers. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Gale Alls.

DEAN C. LINDQUIST TROPHY

Awarded to the best NVSPS navigator competing in all navigation contests in a season. Originated by Dean C. Lindquist. *Not awarded in 2010*.

NVSPS TROPHIES & AWARDS (FOR 2009-2010) (Cont'd)

JACK ISICSON TROPHY

Presented by the Isicson Family for the best single score of the year in an NVSPS navigation contest by an NVSPS boat navigated by her owner. *Not awarded in 2010*.

COMMANDER'S DISCRETIONARY AWARDS

Presented to the NVSPS members who have performed exceptional service to the Squadron. Originated in 2001. Awarded to Joel Bailey, Tom Ballew, Richard & Jean Durgin, Erin Gallagher, Manette & Walt Lazear, George & Ann Nartsissov, Frank Shults, John von Senden, Frederick Zugay.

COMMANDER'S RECOGNITION CERTIFICATE

Presented to convey NVSPS' grateful recognition for the ongoing support of our squadron programs and services. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Dwight Bues, Richard Davis, Robert Donahue, J.J. Fitzgerald, Tom Martin, Keith Segerson, Cathy Sheffield, Tom Trumbauer, Georgia Williamson, Ralph Young.