NVSPS TROPHIES & AWARDS (FOR 2008-2009)

CHARLES S. KENT PERPETUAL MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented annually to the NVSPS sailboat skipper whose seamanship, dedication, service, participation, and citizenship best exemplify the principles of the USPS[®]. *Awarded to Sue Karjala and John Karjala*.

COMMANDER'S APPRECIATION AWARD

Presented to recognize the NVSPS power boat skipper who for a number of years best exemplifies the values of USPS toward education, safety, community service, and boating fun. It recognizes outstanding service to NVSPS. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Evelyn Alls and Gale Alls.

NVSPS NEWER MEMBER AWARD

Presented annually by the NVSPS Commander to a new member who has made substantial contributions of time and effort to the success of the Squadron. *Awarded to Frank Shults*.

NVSPS SEASONED SALT AWARD

Presented to a Senior member for extraordinary dedication and deep commitment towards the success of NVSPS and its services and programs. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to **Jean Durgin**.

NVSPS EDUCATIONAL AWARD

Awarded annually to the NVSPS member for his outstanding contribution to our educational department. Originated by P/C James M. Settle, AP. *Awarded to J.J. Fitzgerald*.

OUTSTANDING INSTRUCTOR BOATING SAFETY

For the instructor of boating safety who best exemplifies the spirit and principles of USPS[®]. Originated by P/C Jere D. Dando, AP and Nancy G. Dando, P. *Awarded to Brian Choate and Norbert Hymel*.

PAST COMMANDER'S AWARD

Presented to a NVSPS Past Commander who has provided outstanding performance, service, participation, and support. Originated by P/C Jere D. Dando, AP and Nancy G. Dando, P. Awarded to **Richard Durgin**.

MENTOR OF THE YEAR AWARD

Presented for commitment to excellence in mentoring new officers. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to **John Shivik**.

DEAN C. LINDQUIST TROPHY

Awarded to the best NVSPS navigator competing in all navigation contests in a season. Originated by Dean C. Lindquist. *Not awarded in 2009*.

JACK ISICSON TROPHY

Presented by the Isicson Family for the best single score of the year in an NVSPS navigation contest by an NVSPS boat navigated by her owner. *Not awarded in 2009*.

COMMANDER'S DISCRETIONARY AWARDS

Presented to the NVSPS members who have performed exceptional service to the Squadron. Originated in 2001. Awarded to Paula Bailey, Joel Bailey, Tom Ballew, Manette Lazear, Walter Lazear, Richard Unis, and Francis Williamson.

COMMANDER'S RECOGNITION CERTIFICATE

Presented to convey NVSPS' grateful recognition for the ongoing support of our squadron programs and services. Originated by P/C George K Degnon, P. Awarded to Lindsey Belian, Mike Card, Richard Davis, Steve & Ann Hall, Alan & Mary Hart, Ron & Donna Larson, Tom Martin, George & Ann Nartsissov, G. Jay & Chris Nelson, William Petersen, Ming & Jie (Chen) Sheu, John Von Senden, Cathy Sheffield, and Fred Zugay.